Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond

As English is not my native language, I always have to study hard all the meanings of the Challenge Words. The word for this week’s Photo Challenge is Beyond. In my post I tried to use it from different views, and I hope you will enjoy it.
Seven years ago I visited Yemen, different country that is quite beyond to me. This trip changed my life, I met a lot of nice people there and I learned a lot about other culture. We visited cities and country as well, and now I want to show you some shots from this different country.

We took a walk in Haraz mountains arounf the village Al Hajjarah, it was early November morning and clouds were all around us. What’s hidden beyond them?

1

Walking in the clouds

Getting closer we saw crofts with grain and Indian millet.

2

Crofts

Buildings started to appear above the crofts.

3

Crofts and buildings

Soon the mountain village loomed in front of us.

4

Al Hajjarah – mountain village

The village was built on a rocky hill, accesible over the small valley and then we climbed up to enter the place.

5

Cross the valley, climb the rock – on the stairs

Finally the clouds left, sky was ultramarine blue and we saw the clay houses all around us.

6

Almost skyscraper, what you think?

Most of the buildings were decorated like gingerbreads, in fact pictures of these gingerbread houses had made me want to visit Yemen and finally brought me there.

7

Gingerbread house

What was hidden beyond the walls? Any place in Yemen, doesn’t matter how deserted it looks when you come, is soon full of children talking to you, wanting you to take their picture, laughing and opening their hearts to you.

8

Waiting for visitors

Finally they invited us home to find traditional interior as well as TV, where Anna and the King with Yul Brynner was on.

9

Living room

The visit was really precious for me, and I was able to see for just a minute, where and how people lived there, in the country that is so beyond for me.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. poppytump
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 14:07:18

    I think you got the meaning Beyond really well Katy 🙂 leading us beyond … to the mountain village, which is unusual looking to me and how I think of village houses .. yes they do look like skyscrapers !

    Reply

  2. bubblytee
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 14:45:48

    Beyond the borders of your world lives an entirely different culture…of gingerbread villages, new ideas, and interesting customs.

    I loved loved this entry! How marvelous that you got to travel to this beautiful place. Every picture is exceptionally beautiful. Thank you!

    Your English is outstanding and you write better than many others for whom the language is native.

    Reply

  3. elizz
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 14:49:37

    very nice interpretation of ‘beyond’ .. i love the simplicity of the interior of their homes, nice racks molded into the room for things to display.. very nice post 🙂

    Reply

  4. LaVagabonde
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 15:28:00

    Lovely post, Katy. I’ve been very impressed by your English in all of your posts. 🙂 -Julie

    Reply

  5. lingeringvisions
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 18:00:50

    What a wonderful way to improve your English language skills. Although I would think that it’s especially challenging since words like “beyond” can have so many poetic connotations.

    Reply

  6. Anant Awasthi
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 21:47:21

    I would love to visit these places once in my lifetime………..

    Reply

  7. grand-player
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 04:49:24

    Your photography is outrageously beautiful!

    Reply

  8. Wild Juggler
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 14:16:09

    You’re supremely talented. Love the photos.

    Reply

  9. sued51
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 14:43:46

    Katy,
    I loved your take on this…the way you put together the post to “reveal” what was beyond the foggy photos…great job!

    Reply

  10. bluebrightly
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 19:47:17

    Step by step, closer and closer, you did a great job here showing a place that’s beyond.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

To Rave About

Lifestyle | Health | Inspiration

Quilts, Cats and Me

The crafts that I love, cats and travel

Tori's Adventure

Life living abroad in Al Ain, UAE

Katja's Photography

It's the little things that create beauty ...

Jan Flieger Photography

Photography blog with passion for vintage lenses.

therookiexpat

Recent college grad exploring life abroad while teaching English

Cowboy in Prague

Cowboy's adventures in Prague

The Prague Days of Summer

Shaina Bowen's Czech Republic Adventures

